An Appeal

India is a country of 1.2 Billion people. It is more than the sixth of the world’s total population. Divided into twenty nine states and seven union territories, this giant peninsular is vast. Here one not only finds, people speaking so many different languages and dialects, but one notices a cultural shift every few kilometers. This vast ethnicity has contributed so much to India’s rich literature. There is an enormous generation of culturally rich knowledge and learning’s which await to be explored.

My father is an Ex-Army Officer from the Indian Army. The best thing about this has been moving to various places every few years. Not just my geographical understanding of the region has been solidified but I have learnt the shift in social cultures and traditions across the length and breath of the country. I have grown up in small towns as well as big cities. I can ride the roughness of a small village, and survive the madness and high of a metro at the same time.  The experience has been just amazing until now.

But I don’t want to stop there; I want to explore more of this country which I proudly call home. I would want to spend a year of reading India. Experiencing India, vicariously. With such rich background, I am yet to experience it fully. And hence this project has been a small initiative to fill in the void I think has been missing.

A step to know India better through the medium of Print would be a good way to begin.

So what is this project all about?

During 2016 I am going to read 29 books signifying each of the 29 states in India. It could be either originating from a particular state or written by an author of a particular state. In turn I would also be blogging about these books as and when I read. And each of these, which is, Reading, Researching and Blogging about all the books from each of the states will be done in a period of one year.

I understand a lot of local books might not have been translated to English, hence finding the really good ones would be a challenging task. Hence I appeal to each one of you to please suggest me books, be it fiction or nonfiction, self-help, history, adventure, folklore or a collection of short stories from each state of India. Also I would request each one of you to share the post and help spread the message.

You can help me suggest books in the comment section below, or get in touch with me via E Mail, Facebook or Twitter. All details are mentioned in the contact page of this blog.

This will help me in shortlisting the best books for the project. What I am in particular looking at is that, each book should have a reflection of a particular state in some manner or the other and a story worth sharing. Also please connect me to the right people in case you think, who will be well informed about such books.

I hope I do justice to the project, and bring the best out of each book.

3 thoughts on “An Appeal

  1. Recently read the book ‘A Palace of Illusions’… a new perspective /take on Draupadi as the central character, her attitude, behaviour and doings as a princess, warrior, wife and friend of Krishna. Liked the new take.

    Like

    1. Yes, I read that book recently and absolutely loved it. So beautiful and vivid. Her point of view on the entire epic gives a new dimension to the book. Will blog about it very soon! Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

